Daily Archives: November 11, 2008

Lipstick, Lacan and Rashes

So, I thought this was common knowledge, but, according to my google searches, I’m some sort of freak.  At some point, babies start to recognize themselves in the mirror.  Normally, this is before they have the verbal ability to say, “Hey Mom!  That baby, the one that has been staring back at me from that shiny thing, is ME!”  So there is a test.  You put lipstick on their cheek, hold them up in front of the mirror, and see if they try to wipe it off their cheek.  I wanted to sum this all up in a link, so I didn’t seem like a rambling pop-psychology Dr. Phil/Oprah freak.  All I could find was this.  It is rambling, but I wish I had read it before yesterday.

Yesterday I caught Harper looking in the mirror, and I thought I saw a glimmer of recognition.  So I broke out some bright red glittery super cheep lipstick and smeared it all over her cheek.  I held her up to the mirror, and nothing.  

I tried to wipe off the lipstick, but I could not get it all off.  It looked like I had put blush on half her face.  I figured it would wear off as the day went on, and it did.  In it’s place a small rash appeared.  Thankfully, Skylar worked late and did not see her last night, so no one knows.  Hopefully, it will be gone this morning.

Any-who, if I had read the link above, I would have known not to try this till 16 months, not 8 months.  Next time I’ll try something hypoallergenic, too.

5 Comments

Filed under parenting