where is the mute button on this thing?

img_2656

Harper, now at 8 months, has started taking a pacifier. Most babies give up their pacifier by this age.  Most mommies I know that have babies older than 6 months still taking the pacifier, are thinking about how to get them off of it.  

I wanted her to take one so she wouldn’t cry.  Ever.  I would like her to never cry again.  This is not going to happen, and I don’t know why I thought a pacifier would be some magical tool that would perpetually soothe her every issue.  It is just a fake nipple, not a silencer.  So I should just take it away, right?  It would really be a non-issue for her at this point.  But I have not given up belief in the magical pacifier powers…  Am I setting myself up for failure here?

6 Comments

Filed under parenting

6 responses to “where is the mute button on this thing?

  1. Brynne Humphreys

    Two.

  2. Liz Massey Gendel

    Why does this type of pacifier not have a handle? I like it because it makes kids look silly.

  3. They learn how to scream around them out of each side. Trust me. So then it just becomes a thing they must always have, which is the opposite of helpful. Good luck and use the force.

  4. milkymilk

    Brynne, I’ll get right on that…

    Liz, I luved looking in her mouth when she had this pacifier! You could see her little bottom teeth. It is super silly.

    Susie, I am using the force. The last thing we need is one more thing she has to have.

  5. Totally individual of course, but my kids kicked the paci around age 3. By age one, it’s bedtime and nap-time only and then at age 3 it’s a meaningful ceremony and a trip to the dentist before he’s willing to trash it.

    So, come to think of it, getting rid of it now does sound easier.

  6. milkymilk

    If it helped her nap and sleep, no way would I take it from her. Anything that brings about more sleep is a good thing, no matter how ‘bad’ it is.

    She mostly uses it when she is playing, so I feel o.k. about taking it away.

Leave a Reply

