TMI

I weaned the baby.  

It has been a little over a week now, and I guess I have not said anything about it here because I’ve been pretty conflicted.  She is turning nine months this week, so it is kind of early.  The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends moms nurse for 12 months, and there are health benefits for extended breastfeeding.   

It stared when we were on our way home from brunching on Southport one weekend.  She was over 6 months.  She got really hungry during our walk.  I had to stop at a bus stop to nurse her.  There I was, watching traffic go by, my boob barely sheltered by my hooter hider, and I thought, “She can almost hold the bottle by herself.”  She was also getting to an age where she wanted to see what was going on at all times.  She would thow off the hooter hider, also known as child lead flashing.  

I thought I would be a more hardcore nurser than I was.  I thought I would be brave and relaxed about nursing in public, but it always made me shy and uncomfortable.  I was never the girl with the most beads in the French Quarter.  My hooter hider was my only hope (which for the first 6 months she was great with.)  So I started giving her formula when we were out and about.  I have to say, she was totally cool with it.  She even preferred it to the hooter hider.

After a month or so of this, my supply started to decreese.  I had two choices, I could stop giving her the bottle so often to increese my supply, or I could wean her.  So I moved her to 3 solid food meals a day, and increased the bottles.  Before I knew it, I had no more milk.  The whole thing was much easier and quicker than I thought it would be.  Well, I guess we had been moving towards it for months, but without really thinking about it.  

I have been feeling a bit selfish about the whole thing.  Pros of weaning:  

  • I have SO MUCH more energy.  It is crasy how much making milk took out of me.  
  • I can drink all the diet coke I want.  That is a lot, and I LOVE it.  
  • I can wear whatever I want, and not have to think about how it will grant access.
  • I am not flashing people.
  • I can drink freely.

All those reasons are pretty shallow and selfish in caparison to the health benefits for Harper, like less risk of having allergies, a higher IQ, less likely to face childhood obesity, and so on.  I’ve been feeling a bit guilty about it.  

Today, I’m pretty sure I’m being punished.  My left breast is larger than my right.  I spent a good amount of time trying to rectify this situation with a low cut shirt I had on.  I changed shirts.  At least this is a problem a drink can solve.

3 Comments

Filed under parenting

3 responses to “TMI

  1. J. was reading over my shoulder as I read this and said that you can no longer be Milkymilk, Mary. But I disagree. I think 9 months of breast feeding is a hell of a long time and you’ve earned the moniker for the rest of your life.

    I’ve also read that the major benefits of breastfeeding occur in the first three months. While I always felt bad about weaning at 5 months, I thought that my being less stressed about feeding Jack and Sadie and their being less boob-obsessed was a good side benefit.

  2. milkymilk

    Maybe I should change the name to Lefty ;})

    We have to be moms for the rest of our lives, right? So, I think, in the end, a few months of not breastfeeding is not going to make a huge impact in the grand scheme of things. She’ll still hate me when she is a teenager, and call for money when she is in college.

  3. Brynne Humphreys

    Why didn’t you attach a photo to this one? Scandalous!

Leave a Reply

