Daily Archives: November 10, 2008

Hair Gel for Babies

Harper’s hair is coming in, and it is going through that wacky phase all hair does when it is growing out.  It has that look of being between cuts.  Then there is The Piece.  The Piece is always sticking up in the same way.  I tried drying it down after her bath.  The Piece remained up.  I tried weighing it down with lotion.  The Piece stuck up, but greasier.   So I called my mom.  She said when we were babies, she used sugar water, or a simple syrup, to fix our hair.  (She also used it to glue bows to my head.  Apparently, I was born before baby head bands and Velcro bows.)  I figured it was worth a try.

 

Baby Gel Recipe:

1 tablespoon sugar

1 tablespoon water

In a saucepan over medium heat, dissolve sugar in the water.  Let cool.  Style baby’s hair.*

 

BEFORE:

img_2712

AFTER:

img_2792

 

*Skylar, who gave Harper her bath, wanted me to let ya’ll know this stuff is pretty hard to wash out.

4 Comments

Filed under parenting